Neues Palais

Germany Facts and Figures


Berlin is the capital city of Germany and has 3.47 million inhabitants.


Population of Germany: 82,057,000

System of government

The Federal Republic of Germany is a democracy with a liberal free-market economy, freedom of religion and freedom of the press. Germany is a member of the European Union (EU).

States in the Federal Republic

Germany consists of 16 states called "Bundesländer". They have their own government and own regional constitutions. The principle of federalism is one of the inviolable principles of the constitution.
The states are: Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Berlin, Brandenburg, Bremen, Hamburg, Hesse, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Lower Saxony, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland Palatinate, Saarland, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Schleswig-Holstein, Thuringia.


Germany is located in the centre of Europe. It forms a bridge between maritime West of Europe and the continental East, between the warmer South and the cool North. Germany is a triad of mountain ranges, uplands and low-land plains – the Bavarian Alps in the South, the pleasant wooded mountains of the Mittelgebirge in the centre of the country and the low country along the North Sea and Baltic Sea coasts in the North.
The highest point - Zugspitze (2,962 m). Almost 31% of the country is covered with forests.


Federal Republic of Germany covers an area of 357,021km² and has the largest population of any European country. From the northernmost tip to the southernmost point it is 876 km as the crow flies, and 640 km from east to west.
Adjacent countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Switzerland.


Germany’s climate is temperate. The average temperatures are around 20-30°C in the summer (June/July – August/September) dropping around 0°C in the winter months (November/December – February/March).


German is the official language. English is also widely spoken and understood.


Just under two thirds of Germans consider themselves Christians, and around a third say they have no religion or are members of a non-Christian faith community such as Muslim or Jewish.

Time zone

In Germany, clocks are set to Central European time(CET), which means that the country is 6 hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time (EST) in the United States and 1 hour ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Summer daylight saving time begins in Germany in April and ends in September;in this period they are put forward one hour.

Related Topics